Nine of the ten pages that rank for this question are written by firms that sell doors, and most repeat the same three claims: a composite door is twice as thick, more secure and longer lasting. The first is wrong on their own figures, the second is not a property of the material, and the third rests on the sellers' word. Below is how each door is built, what each costs fitted in 2026, what the Building Regulations ask of either, and the two questions that decide whether a particular door is secure. To price a door rather than compare two, the door cost calculator has every type side by side.
How each door is built
A uPVC door is a frame and leaf made from multi-chambered uPVC profile, reinforced with steel. Ken Rhodes, an Essex installer, describes reinforced steel cores; Jewson, the builders' merchant, a galvanised steel core. The leaf holds an infill panel about 28 mm thick on most uPVC doors, and panel makers offer 4 mm, 9 mm or solid MDF cores inside it for added security, at a surcharge (Hallmark Panels). Checkatrade's list of uPVC drawbacks includes a "flimsy styrofoam core".
A composite door is one slab made of several materials "pressed and glued together under high pressure", in Jewson's words. The usual build is a glass reinforced plastic (GRP) skin bonded to a subframe, with high-density polyurethane foam filling the core; John Fredericks, a trade fabricator, reinforces a polymer subframe with laminated veneer lumber. But "composite" covers more than one door. Solidor uses a 48 mm solid timber core. Endurance builds its doors from 15 or 17 layers of cross-laminated veneer (its own site gives both) behind uPVC skins, so not every composite door has a GRP skin at all. Rockdoor has added an aluminium subframe. The core shows in the price: Custom Trade Systems, a Leicestershire installer, says foam-filled doors are the more affordable and solid timber laminate cores command a higher price.
Several guides say a composite door is twice as thick as uPVC (Checkatrade, Jewson, Leamore Windows). The two sources that give millimetres do not show it. EYG, a Hull installer, makes its composite doors 44 mm and its uPVC doors 28 mm; Ken Rhodes puts a standard composite at 44 to 48 mm against roughly 28 mm for most uPVC doors. That is about 1.6 to 1.7 times as thick, not two. Premium composite doors go to 70 mm (Everest, John Fredericks). They are heavier too, which Ken Rhodes notes means the frame and hinges carry more weight. Composite doors hang on the same flag hinges as uPVC and adjust the same way when they drop.
| uPVC door | Composite door | |
|---|---|---|
| Leaf | Frame and leaf in uPVC profile with an infill panel | One slab, skins bonded to a subframe |
| Thickness | About 28 mm panel | 44 to 48 mm; premium 70 mm |
| Core | Panel, optionally MDF-reinforced | Polyurethane foam, or solid timber laminate |
| Skin | uPVC | Usually GRP; some makers use uPVC |
| Reinforcement | Steel in the profile | Timber, LVL, uPVC or aluminium subframe |
| Fitted price, 2026 | £460 to £1,200 | £1,150 to £2,500 |
| Lifespan, sellers' figures | 20 to 25 years | 30 to 35 years |
| Part L limit (England) | 1.4 W/m²K or DSER band B / C | The same |
Source: Ken Rhodes (April 2026), EYG (December 2022), Jewson, John Fredericks, Endurance, Solidor via Leamore Windows, Hallmark Panels; prices from the site's door dataset; Approved Document L, Table 4.2.
Security: the doorset and the cylinder, not the material
There is no legal security standard for a replacement front door. Approved Document Q, the security part of the Building Regulations, applies to new dwellings only. What exists instead is testing. Secured by Design, the police initiative, certifies complete doorsets, "the door frame, door leaf (or leaves), hardware and any integral side panel or fanlight", against PAS 24:2022, a test for doorsets and windows "of all material types" designed to mimic an opportunist burglar with tools that are easy to conceal. It is blunt about the rest of the market, which it says is "littered with products where manufacturers declare their product as secure when no independent testing or further assessment has ever taken place". Its own advice says uPVC doors are more secure when tested and certified, and that a certified composite door offers elevated security. The word doing the work in both sentences is certified.
The cylinder decides the rest. The Master Locksmiths Association points out that every locking point on a multipoint door is operated by the cylinder, which makes it "the weakest point", and that the euro cylinders prone to snapping are on almost all uPVC doors and "a significant number of composite & aluminium doors". The only cylinders it treats as safe from snapping are those tested to TS007 3-star or Sold Secure SS312 Diamond. A 1-star cylinder is anti-snap only when it is fitted with a 2-star handle or escutcheon. That pairing is how Eurocell specifies its own composite door, "a one-star cylinder and two-star handle": acceptable as a pair, but it means a composite door can arrive with a basic cylinder. On either door, the cylinder should not stand more than 3 mm proud of the handle. Changing it is a small job, set out in how to change a uPVC door lock; the locksmiths' own price list puts an anti-snap cylinder fitted from £137 (August 2026).
Two questions sort a front door quote. Is the doorset certified to PAS 24, and what star rating is on the cylinder? "It's composite" answers neither.
Double Glazing Cost Calculator Team
It depends Neither is more secure by material. The certification and the cylinder decide it, on both.
Heat loss and the Building Regulations
In England a replacement door must reach a U-value of 1.4 W/m²K, whatever it is made of. Approved Document L, Table 4.2, gives each door an alternative: a Doorset Energy Rating (DSER) of band C for a door more than 60% glazed, and band B for any other door. FENSA's compliance guide notes that the temporary allowance for timber doors, which ran until June 2023, covered solid-core composite doors as well; that has gone. The rules apply to the whole unit. Hanging a new leaf in the old frame is not providing a controlled fitting and, in Approved Document L's words, "does not need to meet the energy efficiency requirements". Wales publishes its own Approved Document L and Scotland has its own building standards. Our Part L guide covers the window side of the same rules.
No independent test compares the two like for like, so the figures are the makers'. Endurance says all its composite doors are 1.4 or better, Eurocell quotes composite "as low as 1.1", and Solidor says its doors are "1.4 or below", though an older page on its own site gives a maximum of 1.5. For uPVC, Bradfords lists a Crystal half-glazed door at 1.4, and Eurocell lists its uPVC French door at 1.5 as standard, which misses 1.4 on the U-value route and would have to comply through a Doorset Energy Rating instead, a figure its page does not give. One installer's claim that composite cuts heat loss through the doorway by "up to 25%" comes without a method. Ask for the U-value or the DSER on the quote.
Whether anyone has to be told depends on the glass, not the material. Schedule 4 of the Building Regulations 2010 lists "replacing an external door (where the door together with its frame has not more than 50% of its internal face area glazed)" among the jobs that need no building notice. The door must still comply. FENSA's guide says only doors more than 50% glazed have to be registered, but "all doors should however comply", and a solid door can still be given a FENSA certificate if you ask. A door more than half glazed goes through a registered installer or building control, and glazed side panels are registered as separate windows. The Planning Portal calls every external door a controlled fitting, which is right about the standards; the exemption from notifying is in the legislation. Our FENSA guide covers the certificate itself.
It depends Either can comply. Ask for the U-value or DSER in writing.
What each costs fitted in 2026
| Front door, fitted | Low | Typical | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| uPVC front door | £460 | £700 | £1,200 |
| Composite front door | £1,150 | £1,500 | £2,500 |
Source: Checkatrade (June 2026), MyJobQuote (July 2026), Costwise (prices reviewed June 2026). Low sits about 15% above the cheapest cost-guide job, as on every price row on this site. Research in lib/research/upvc-vs-composite-doors-2026.md.
Our front door cost guide prices every material; for these two, a uPVC front door and frame starts at £400 at both Checkatrade (June 2026) and MyJobQuote (July 2026), and Checkatrade averages it at £700. Costwise, a cost guide that publishes its own figures and prices both types, puts a uPVC front or back door at £700 to £1,200 and a composite at £1,000 to £2,500, averaging £1,500: a plain composite door £1,000 to £1,400, colour and decorative glass £1,400 to £1,800, a premium brand £1,900 to £2,500. Our rows start a little above the cheapest cost-guide job, the same margin every price on this site carries, and top out at Costwise's figures.
Most installers' own 2026 price lists run higher. Nu-View prices a standard uPVC door at £800 to £1,400 and a standard composite at £1,400 to £2,200, with sidelights or bespoke glazing taking a composite to £3,500. KJM starts uPVC at £1,095 and composite at £1,450, with its average composite order about £1,850. Custom Trade Systems' premium composite tier runs £2,600 to £4,000 or more, and Everest starts at £1,500 for uPVC and £2,500 for composite. Ken Rhodes sits at the other end, £500 to £1,100 for uPVC and £900 to £1,800 or more for composite.
Two things explain most of the spread between guides. Checkatrade's composite buying guide gives £1,100 to £1,400 for a basic door and, separately, £500 to £1,000 for labour, and never adds the two. And a door-only range of £250 to £500 for uPVC and £400 to £2,000 for composite appears word for word on MyJobQuote, MyBuilder and two installer sites, labelled door-only on one, fitted on another and supply-only on a third. It is not a fitted price. The GreenMatch table this site used to follow reached £2,750 for a uPVC door by allowing up to £2,000 for installation.
How much more composite costs depends on whose figures you read. The only percentages come from installers who sell both: 40 to 60% (Ken Rhodes) and up to 60% (EYG). No cost guide publishes one. Set the cost guides' averages side by side and the gap looks wider, £700 for uPVC at Checkatrade against £1,500 for composite at Costwise, though those are two different guides. Ken Rhodes also works the cost per year: £25 to £55 for uPVC over 20 years, £26 to £51 for composite over 35, roughly level on its own lifespans.
Buying the door yourself, Wickes lists a pre-hung uPVC front door from £580 and made-to-size uPVC doors from £515, and Bradfords a Crystal half-glazed uPVC door at £664.08 including VAT, all in September 2026. No retailer's supply-only composite price was found; Custom Trade Systems quotes £700 to £1,100 for an entry-level composite, supplied only. The cheapest supply-only doors cost more than the bottom of the cost guides' fitted ranges, and none of the guides explains why. If you plan to fit it yourself, the fixings and paperwork are in how to fit a uPVC door. To price your own opening, the door cost calculator carries front, French, patio and bifold doors.
Best Buy uPVC on cost, by several hundred pounds at the typical figures.
Lifespan, colour and heat
Door sellers put a composite door at 30 to 35 years and a uPVC door at 20 to 25: Checkatrade says 35 or more against up to 25, Ken Rhodes 35 against 20 to 25, EYG and Jewson about 30 against 20 to 25, Eurocell 30 against 20. Everest disagrees, giving uPVC 30 years and composite 35. No independent study was found, so these are the trade's figures, and the uPVC one matches the 20 to 25 years our lifespan guide gives uPVC windows. Locks, handles and hinges need attention at around 10 to 15 years on either door, according to Ken Rhodes.
Both are low maintenance on most accounts (EYG, Ken Rhodes); Leamore Windows dissents, saying composite needs more, including occasional refinishing. White uPVC can yellow slightly over 10 to 15 years of sun (Ken Rhodes; Jewson says the same), though Eurocell lists its uPVC as not fading. Colour choice favours composite: Ken Rhodes offers more than 25 composite colours, and Eurocell sprays composite doors to any RAL colour against 15 shades, five of them woodgrain, for its uPVC. An existing uPVC door can also be painted or sprayed: Checkatrade (July 2026) puts spraying a door and frame at £230.
Heat is composite's weak spot. Checkatrade and Jewson both say composite doors swell or expand in long spells of direct sun, and Checkatrade adds that the layers can creak as they do. Rockdoor, a manufacturer, has said that bowing "is unfortunately a common problem amongst composite door manufacturers, including ourselves in the past", and re-engineered its doors to fix it. Endurance says its own doors are unlikely to warp, and Green Doors, a seller, claims composite controls movement better than uPVC, against Jewson, which says composite moves more than a standard white uPVC door. Darker colours absorb more heat, so Eurocell suggests a lighter shade.
Ten years is the usual guarantee on either (Everest, Eurocell, Hallmark Panels; Ken Rhodes gives composite 10 to 15). One composite supplier, Entrance Composite Door Solutions, gives 25 years on the GRP slab's structure for an owner-occupier and 10 for a rental, with 10 years on factory paint and 5 on stained finishes. Frame, slab, finish and hardware often carry different periods, so read which is which.
Worth itComposite on life and colour, on the sellers' figures. Choose a lighter shade for a door in full sun.
Composite door brands compared
No independent source says which composite door is best, or which front doors are top rated in the UK. We found no Which? test or survey of composite door brands, and of the nine results Google UK showed for "best composite door" on 23 September 2026, six were door makers' or sellers' own pages praising their own doors. The other three were an installer that sells one of those brands, a 2024 Checkatrade buying guide, and Door and Window Experts, whose "best" is its own opinion. What can be compared is what each maker says about its own door. The table sets that out for nine brands from their UK websites. Every line is the maker's claim, none has been tested by us, and the order is alphabetical, not a ranking.
| Brand | Slab and core | PAS 24 / Secured by Design | Cylinder | Guarantee | U-value (W/m²K) | Owner, as the site states |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apeer | 70 mm polyurethane core; 48 mm triple glazing as standard | Secured by Design if ordered with laminated glass and a 3-star cylinder | 3-star Ultion an optional upgrade; guarantee page names a Yale Platinum 3-star | 10 years structural; glazing and hardware 5 years (FAQ) or 10 (warranty page) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Distinction | 44 mm GRP leaf, polyurethane core, polymer stiles; sells blank leaves to fabricators only | Says its products are Secured by Design accredited | Not applicable, leaf only | Trade customers only | Says a slab alone has no U-value | Not stated |
| Door-Stop | GRP skin, insulated core (polyurethane or Nordic wood, per Door and Window Experts) | Not on the pages we read | Ultion as standard; up to £5,000 under Ultion's guarantee | Not on the pages we read | 1.4 or better | Trading partner of the Owens Corning Door Division UK&I; site footer Premdor Crosby Ltd |
| Endurance | 48 mm laminated veneer lumber core, 15 or 17 layers (both on its site); uPVC skins | Secured by Design specification, tested to PAS 24:2022 | ABS Master, £2,000 if snapped within 10 years; SBD door has a TS007 3-star lock | Not on the pages we read | 1.4 or below | Not stated |
| Hörmann (Truedor) | Clima63: 63 mm insulated slab, triple glazed | Secured by Design available on all doors | Grade not stated; £4,000 guarantee covers the cylinder only | Not stated | Clima63: below 1 | Hörmann (U.K.) Limited |
| Hurst | GRP range: polyurethane foam core, 4 mm GRP skin. S-Class: solid laminated wood | PAS 24, tested at a UKAS accredited test house | Standard: Kitemarked cylinder plus guard, 3-star as a pair; ABS Master Diamond available | 10 years (5 on premium sprayed finishes) | 1.4 or below | Not stated |
| Palladio | Monocoque with a PUREX0 core, "reinforced with 65mm of fibreglass"; triple glazed as standard | PAS 24:2016 | High-security cylinder an optional extra | 12 years manufacturing | Not on the pages we read | Profile Developments (site copyright); made in Limerick |
| Rockdoor | 50 mm sash; polyurethane foam core, aluminium box section, PVC-U skins | Secured by Design available on every door | TS007 3-star and Sold Secure Diamond; £2,000 lock snapping guarantee | 10 years sash, frame and glass unit; 5 years locks; held by the direct customer | Not stated | GAP Ltd, parent company |
| Solidor | 48 mm solid timber core | Not on the pages we read | Ultion Plus 3-star, Sold Secure Diamond; £5,000 security guarantee | Not on the pages we read | 1.4 or below (FAQ); an older page gives a maximum of 1.5 | Site footer: Premdor Crosby Ltd |
Source: each maker's own UK website, read 23 September 2026; Door-Stop's core options from Door and Window Experts. Maker claims, not tested. 'Not stated' or 'not on the pages we read' means the maker's fetched pages did not give it. Research in lib/research/sections-batch-b-2026.md.
Three things stand out. The cylinder, which the Master Locksmiths Association calls the weakest point, is standard on some doors and an extra on others. Rockdoor and Solidor name a 3-star, Sold Secure Diamond cylinder and Door-Stop fits an Ultion as standard; Palladio lists its high-security cylinder as an "optional extra", Apeer offers an Ultion as an "optional upgrade", and Hurst's standard doors reach 3-star with a cylinder and guard together, the pairing route rather than a 3-star cylinder alone. Secured by Design is usually a specification you ask for: Endurance builds its SBD door with laminated glass and a 3-star lock, and Apeer meets the standard "if ordered with laminated glass and a 3* Cylinder". And guarantees cover different things. Hörmann's £4,000 guarantee "covers damage and replacement to the lock cylinder only", Rockdoor's lies with its direct customer, not homeowners, and Apeer's FAQ and warranty page give 5 and 10 years for glazing and hardware.
Some claims on the ranking pages need care. Rockdoor says a 3-star rating "is the highest rating available"; the Master Locksmiths Association says SS312 Diamond is the more difficult test to pass. Distinction says its doors meet a 1.6 W/m²K limit, which is the new-dwelling figure; a replacement door must reach 1.4 or a DSER band. Rockdoor calls itself "the original manufacturer of the composite door" and Distinction says it was one of the first, in 2004; neither claim is verified. No dated fitted price for each brand was found, so the brands cannot be compared on cost.
The advice is the same whichever name is on the door. Ask for a TS007 3-star or SS312 Diamond cylinder as standard, written on the quote, not as an upgrade you have to remember. Ask whether the PAS 24 or Secured by Design certificate covers the whole doorset, meaning frame, leaf and hardware, as it will be fitted; Distinction sells only blank leaves to fabricators, so the certificate to ask for is the doorset's, not the leaf maker's. Then ask which parts the guarantee covers, for how long, and whether it passes to you. Our front door cost guide has 2026 fitted prices for every door material.
Which to choose
Choose on budget, looks and how long you plan to stay, not on security or heat loss, which the specification decides on either door. uPVC is the sound choice for a back door, a tight budget, or where 20 to 25 years is longer than you expect to be there. Composite suits a front door where you want the thicker leaf, a woodgrain or strong colour and the longest life the trade claims, and can pay roughly twice the typical uPVC figure. Whichever you choose, get four things on the quote in writing: PAS 24 or Secured by Design certification for the doorset, a TS007 3-star or SS312 Diamond cylinder, the U-value or DSER, and who certifies the job if the door is more than half glass. The rest of our double glazing comparisons put windows through the same test.
Get quotes for a front door
The figures above are the 2026 ranges, not a price for your opening. Frame size, glazing, colour and the hardware all move a door quote, and the cylinder grade is the line most worth checking. If you want quotes on your own door, tell us what you need and Leads 2 Trade will arrange quotes from installers covering your postcode.
Frequently asked questions
Construction, thickness and price. A uPVC door is a steel-reinforced uPVC frame and leaf with an infill panel about 28 mm thick. A composite door is a single slab 44 to 48 mm thick, usually a glass reinforced plastic (GRP) skin bonded over a polyurethane foam or solid timber core on a reinforced subframe. Fitted in 2026, a uPVC front door costs £460 to £1,200 and a composite £1,150 to £2,500. Both must meet the same Part L limit, and neither is more secure by material alone.
Not because it is composite. Secured by Design's standards apply to the complete doorset, meaning frame, leaf and hardware, and its current test, PAS 24:2022, covers doorsets of all material types. The Master Locksmiths Association calls the cylinder the weakest point on either kind, because every locking point runs off it. Ask for a certified doorset and a TS007 3-star or Sold Secure Diamond (SS312) cylinder, whichever material you buy.
£460 to £1,200 fitted for a uPVC front door in 2026, typically around £700. Checkatrade (June 2026) and MyJobQuote (July 2026) both start a door and frame at £400, Checkatrade averages £700, and Costwise tops out at £1,200 for a front or back door. Decorative glass and upgraded hardware cost more: Nu-View, an installer, prices those doors at £1,200 to £1,800. Supply only, Wickes lists a pre-hung uPVC front door from £580.
The only published percentages come from installers who sell both: 40 to 60% more (Ken Rhodes, April 2026) and up to 60% (EYG, 2022). No cost guide publishes one. Set the cost guides' averages side by side and the gap looks wider, £700 for a uPVC door and frame at Checkatrade against £1,500 for a composite at Costwise, though those are two different guides. Costwise, which prices both, puts a uPVC front or back door at £700 to £1,200 and a plain composite door at £1,000 to £1,400.
No, although several guides say so. The two sources that give millimetres put a standard composite door at 44 mm (EYG) or 44 to 48 mm (Ken Rhodes) against about 28 mm for a uPVC panel door. That is roughly 1.6 to 1.7 times as thick, not twice. Premium composite doors are made at 70 mm.
Not if the new door and its frame are 50% glazed or less. Schedule 4 of the Building Regulations 2010 exempts that replacement from notification, but the door must still comply, including Part L's 1.4 W/m²K limit or its Doorset Energy Rating alternative. A door more than half glazed must go through a registered installer, such as a FENSA member, or through building control, and glazed side panels are registered as separate windows.
Door sellers put a composite door at 30 to 35 years and a uPVC door at 20 to 25 (Checkatrade, Ken Rhodes, EYG, Jewson, Eurocell). Everest disagrees, giving uPVC 30 years and composite 35. No independent study was found; the figures are the trade's own. Locks, handles and hinges need attention at around 10 to 15 years on either, according to Ken Rhodes.
They can move. Checkatrade and Jewson both say composite doors swell or expand in long spells of direct sun, and Rockdoor, a manufacturer, has said bowing was a common problem among composite door makers, itself included, until it re-engineered its doors with an aluminium subframe. Darker colours absorb more heat, which is why Eurocell suggests a lighter shade. Jewson says too much heat can damage uPVC frames as well.
No independent test answers that. We found no Which? test or survey of composite door brands, and most pages that rank for the question are makers praising their own doors. Compare what each maker states instead: whether a TS007 3-star or SS312 Diamond cylinder is standard or an extra, whether the whole doorset is certified to PAS 24 or Secured by Design, what the guarantee covers and who holds it, and the U-value. Palladio, for example, lists its high-security cylinder as an optional extra.
Not always. On their own websites, Rockdoor and Solidor name a TS007 3-star, Sold Secure Diamond cylinder, and Door-Stop fits an Ultion lock as standard. Palladio lists its high-security cylinder as an optional extra and Apeer offers a 3-star Ultion as an optional upgrade. Hurst's standard doors reach 3-star with a cylinder and guard together, not a 3-star cylinder alone. Ask for the cylinder grade in writing on the quote.
It varies by maker and by part. Rockdoor gives 10 years on the sash, outer frame and glass unit and 5 on locking mechanisms, but says the guarantee lies with its direct customer, not the homeowner. Hurst gives 10 years, 5 on premium sprayed finishes, and Palladio a 12-year manufacturing guarantee. Hörmann's £4,000 anti-burglary guarantee covers the lock cylinder only. Ask which parts are covered, for how long, and whether the guarantee passes to you.
