Get Free Quotes
Comparison

uPVC Window Brands Compared: REHAU, VEKA, Liniar and More

Ten uPVC profile systems set side by side on the figures each maker publishes: depth, chambers, U-value, energy rating, guarantee, recycled content, security and ownership. No scores and no winner, because the published numbers are closer than the adverts suggest and the firm that makes and fits your window matters more.

People search for REHAU windows or VEKA windows as if they were buying from REHAU or VEKA. They are not. This page compares the ten uPVC profile systems we could source on the figures each one publishes, with blanks where a maker does not say. For the material itself, what uPVC costs and how long it lasts, see our uPVC windows guide, and for other side-by-side pages, the window and material comparisons.

What a uPVC profile system is

A profile system is the set of uPVC frame, sash and bead sections a systems house designs, tests and extrudes. Window profile is extruded in long lengths, not injection moulded, as some ranking pages say. The Residence Collection describes its profile as extruded in 6 m lengths.

Those lengths go to a fabricator. The Residence Collection sets out the chain in plain words: the installer sends the specification to a fabricator, and "the fabricator will then manufacture your windows including, glass, hardware and finishing details". It adds that the fabricator sources the sealed units and hardware from its own suppliers, under the fabricator's guarantee. Liniar says the same from its side: it extrudes the profiles and delivers them "to independent specialist manufacturers and resellers all over the UK".

So a REHAU window is a REHAU frame, cut and welded by a fabricator, with somebody else's glass and locks, fitted by your installer. Four firms, one window.

The ten systems compared on published figures

Every figure below is the maker's own claim, taken from its UK website or its product sheet on NBS Source (which manufacturers write and verify themselves). U-values are for the whole window unless marked. A dash means the maker's pages we read did not state it; it does not mean the system lacks the feature.

uPVC window profile systems: thermal figures as published by each maker
System (lines)DepthChambersBest double-glazed U-valueBest stated U-valueWER claimedSource
REHAU (TOTAL70, Rio flush fit)70 mmMulti-chamber, no count1.3 (Rio)0.8 (TOTAL70, triple, argon)A (Rio, Heritage)REHAU UK TOTAL70 and Rio pages
VEKA (M70, Matrix, OMNIA)70 mmMulti-chamber, no count1.20.75 (M70, OMNIA)A+ (Matrix)VEKA sheets on NBS Source
Liniar (70mm, EnergyPlus)70 mm4 standard, 6 EnergyPlus1.20.81 (70mm casement)Up to A++Liniar casement and windows pages
Eurocell (Modus)75 mm6Not stated (1.1 is the glass unit)Not statedA++ to CEurocell Modus sheet on NBS Source
Deceuninck (Heritage 2500, 2800)-----Deceuninck UK pages
Kömmerling (Kömmerling 70)70 (system name)51.20.88 (triple)-Kömmerling 70 page
Profile 22 (casement)70 mm6 outer frame, 5 sash1.20.8 (triple)A+ double, A++ tripleProfile 22 casement page
Spectus (Elite 70, Elite 63)70 / 63 mm---A; A+ (Elite 70, 63)Spectus windows page
aluplast (Ideal 70, Ideal 4000)70 mm51.21.2A+ and A++ both statedaluplast casements page
Residence (R9, R7, R2)100 / 75 / 100 mm9 / 7 / 91.20.76 (R9, R2, triple)-Residence Collection pages

U-values in W/m²K. Manufacturer claims, read 23 September 2026; not independently tested. Research in lib/research/upvc-window-brands-2026.md.

uPVC window profile systems: guarantee, recycling, security and ownership
SystemProfile guaranteeRecycled contentPAS 24 / Secured by DesignUK extrusionOwnership
REHAUNot stated on REHAU's pagesTOTAL70C: co-extruded, 75% post-consumer wasteRio: PAS 24 enhanced security"UK Manufactured" (Rio); site not namedREHAU Group, family-owned; HQ Muri, Switzerland
VEKATen yearsUsed, no percentage givenPAS 24; SBD when configuredBurnleyVEKA Group, family-owned since 1969; HQ Germany
Liniar10 years on the frame-PAS 24, SBD, Part QDenby, DerbyshireQuanex Building Products, US
Eurocell12 years (NBS sheet)50% post-consumer, in the core onlyPAS 24Derbyshire (head office; site not named)Eurocell plc, London Stock Exchange
Deceuninck10 years-PAS 24 (2500, 2800, flush)Calne, WiltshireDeceuninck nv, Belgium
Kömmerling10 years on the profileRecycled core, no percentage-Huthwaite, Nottinghamshireprofine Group, Germany
Profile 22--PAS 24 when correctly specified; SBD can be metNot statedEpwin Group plc
Spectus--Secured by Design approvalNot statedEpwin Group plc
aluplast-Recycled core, no percentageCan be made to PAS 24, Part Q and SBDNot stated (UK office Tewkesbury)Family-owned, founded in Germany 1982
Residence---WiltshireQ19 Group since 2022

As published on each maker's UK site or NBS Source sheet, read 23 September 2026. A dash means not stated on the pages read.

The finding: double glazed, they are within 0.1 W/m²K

Look down the double-glazed column. VEKA, Liniar, Kömmerling, Profile 22, aluplast and the Residence Collection all publish 1.2 W/m²K for a double-glazed window. REHAU's Rio flush fit is quoted at 1.3. The advertised figures below 1.0, VEKA's 0.75, Residence's 0.76, REHAU's 0.8 and Kömmerling's 0.88, are all triple glazing. If you are comparing double-glazed quotes, the brand headline number is not the one you will get.

Every double-glazed figure published is also inside the Building Regulations limit. A replacement window in England must reach 1.4 W/m²K or WER band B, the standard in full since 15 June 2023 (our Part L guide covers the detail). Band B, not band C as one ranking page still says. At least one systems house page also still quotes 1.6 W/m²K for Part L, which is not the current replacement limit.

Watch for glass figures dressed up as window figures. Eurocell's Modus sheet gives 1.1 W/m²K for a 28 mm double-glazed unit and 0.7 for a 44 mm krypton triple unit, and it says to refer to the whole-window U-value for the window. A page that calls Modus a 0.7 W/m²K window has taken the glass number. The U-values guide explains why Part L is assessed on the whole-window figure, which counts the frame and spacer as well as the glass.

Energy ratings are less tidy than U-values. Liniar says its systems reach A++ "with ease" and U-values as low as 1.2 with double glazing, and that "you don't always need expensive triple glazing to achieve the highest energy ratings". aluplast lists A++ for Ideal 70 in one place and A+ in two others on the same page. Eurocell lists grades from A++ down to C for Modus. These are the makers' own claims. A WER also counts solar gain, not just heat loss, which our window energy ratings guide explains.

The systems one by one

REHAU

REHAU was set up in 1948 in Rehau, Germany, and is 100% family-owned, with its group headquarters in Muri, Switzerland. It formed REHAU Plastics Ltd in the UK in 1962 and opened a production site at Amlwch in 1975. TOTAL70 is its 70 mm casement: a multi-chamber profile that takes glass up to 44 mm and a sash up to 40 kg, and reaches 0.8 W/m²K with triple-glazed argon units on REHAU's figure. TOTAL70C is co-extruded with a profile made up of 75% post-consumer waste. The Rio flush fit, also 70 mm, is quoted at 1.3 W/m²K, A energy rated and PAS 24 enhanced security accredited. REHAU's own pages that we read do not state a profile guarantee length.

VEKA

VEKA is headquartered in Germany and family-owned since 1969. Its UK arm, VEKA plc, has supplied uPVC systems here since 1986 from Burnley, under the VEKA, Halo and OMNIA names. The M70 casement is a 70 mm multi-chamber system at 1.2 W/m²K double glazed and 0.75 triple, with steel and aluminium reinforcement and a ten-year guarantee. VEKA says its profiles carry the BSI Kitemark. Its NBS sheets give the Matrix window an A+ rating and an expected life of 35 years, and OMNIA, a flush sash, a referenced service life of 35 years. Those are VEKA's figures for the frame. We plan on 20 to 25 years for a uPVC window, because the sealed units usually go first, at 15 to 20.

Liniar

Liniar extrudes in Denby, Derbyshire, and is a subsidiary of Quanex Building Products, a US company. Its standard 70 mm profile has four chambers and its EnergyPlus profile six. It quotes 1.2 W/m²K with double glazing, 0.81 whole window for the 70 mm casement, A++, PAS 24, Secured by Design and a 10-year frame guarantee. Liniar's trade terms show that guarantee is a white-profile promise: colour on foiled profile sits with the foil supplier's warranty.

Eurocell

Eurocell was founded in 1974 as a plastics extrusion business in Derbyshire and listed on the London Stock Exchange in 2015. Modus is a 75 mm, six-chamber system made of 50% virgin and 50% post-consumer recycled uPVC, with the recycled material in the core only. Its NBS sheet gives a 12 year warranty and PAS 24, and says reinforcement is not included up to a 1600 Pa weather classification.

Deceuninck

Deceuninck is Belgian, with its UK head office and production in Calne, Wiltshire. Its Heritage 2500 and 2800 windows and its flush products are PAS 24 certified, and it gives a 10 year guarantee and 30 woodgrain colourways. Its 5000 system uses Linktrusion, glass fibre combined with uPVC, which Deceuninck says removes the need for traditional steel reinforcement.

Kömmerling

Kömmerling is a profine Group brand, extruded in Huthwaite, Nottinghamshire. Kömmerling 70 has five chambers and is quoted at 1.2 W/m²K as standard and 0.88 with triple glazing. The profile carries a 10-year warranty, and Kömmerling says the warranty on glass and hardware comes from your installer.

Profile 22 and Spectus

Both are trading names of the same Epwin Group subsidiary. Profile 22 is a 70 mm casement with six chambers in the outer frame and five in the sash, at 1.2 W/m²K and A+ double glazed and 0.8 and A++ triple. Spectus's main systems are Elite 70 and Elite 63, with Secured by Design approval, A+ for both, up to 28 colours and an estimated lifespan, on Spectus's own claim, in excess of 35 years.

aluplast

aluplast was founded in Germany in 1982 and is family-owned, with a UK office in Tewkesbury. Ideal 70 and Ideal 4000 are 70 mm, five-chamber systems at 1.2 W/m²K, which can be made to PAS 24, Part Q and Secured by Design.

The Residence Collection

Residence designs in Gloucestershire and extrudes in Wiltshire, and has been part of the Q19 Group since 2022. Residence 9, which it designed in 2011 as a timber alternative, is a 100 mm, nine-chamber frame; the Residence 7 is 75 mm with seven chambers and sits flush inside and out. All three lines are quoted at 1.2 W/m²K double glazed. If a flush look is the reason you are asking, our flush casement guide covers the style across makers.

Market share: what is actually published

No independent UK market-share figure for window profile systems is public. REHAU says "one in seven uPVC windows fitted in the UK are made from REHAU profile", which is its own claim, with no method or year. Eurocell calls itself the UK's leading manufacturer, distributor and recycler of uPVC window systems, and profine one of the world's largest. None gives a share figure that can be checked. A review page that credits a brand with a larger share than the brand claims for itself, one in four rather than one in seven, is not quoting anybody.

What actually drives quality and price

Mostly the fabricator and the installer. The profile is one line on the quote. The sealed unit, the locks and hinges, the fabricator's welding, and the fitting all come from someone else, and so does the guarantee you can enforce. Kömmerling says the warranty on glass and hardware "will be given by your local installation partner", and the Residence Collection that the contract, warranty and aftercare are with your installer.

Security works the same way. VEKA's own NBS sheet says Secured by Design "requires the manufacturer (not the systems supplier)" of the windows to be third-party certified. A profile that is "SBD capable" tells you little until the fabricator's certificate covers the window you are buying.

Pick the installer first and the profile second. The published figures for the main systems are close, most installers work with one system, and the firm that fits the window is the one whose work and guarantee you live with.

Double Glazing Cost Calculator Team

Installers usually work with one system. REHAU and Residence both run installer searches that return only their own network, so choosing a profile mostly means choosing among the installers who use it. No independent source puts a price on the profile brand alone, so we do not give one. A fitted uPVC casement runs £400 to £1,000 whatever the profile, and the uPVC window calculator prices your own windows. If you are still deciding on material, the uPVC vs aluminium comparison sets out the trade-off.

How to use brand information when comparing quotes

Which? advises making sure each company prices "exactly the same products and materials, so you can compare the quotes fairly". With profile systems, that means:

  • Ask for the system and the line. TOTAL70 or Rio, M70 or OMNIA, Liniar standard or EnergyPlus. The line sets the depth, the chambers and the look.
  • Ask for the whole-window U-value or WER of the quoted window. Not the brand's best figure, and not the glass alone. It must be 1.4 W/m²K or band B at worst.
  • Ask who fabricates it. Glass, hardware and Secured by Design certification sit with the fabricator.
  • Read the installer's guarantee. A 10 year profile guarantee may cover white profile only; foils can sit on the foil supplier's warranty.
  • Compare like with like. Two quotes on different systems can both be fine. Our guide to getting three quotes shows how to line them up.

Get quotes on your windows

The profile matters less than who makes and fits the window, so quotes on your own windows are the real comparison. Tell us what you need and Leads 2 Trade will arrange quotes from installers covering your postcode.

First line only, for example 12 Mill Lane. Your postcode is above.
The more detail you give, the closer the quotes will be.

Price-checkedLast reviewed 23 September 2026
Reviewed byDouble Glazing Cost Calculator TeamCross-checked against Checkatrade, the FMB & GreenMatch

Frequently asked questions

REHAU publishes solid figures for its profile. TOTAL70 is a 70 mm multi-chamber casement that takes glass up to 44 mm and, on REHAU's own figure, reaches 0.8 W/m²K with triple glazing. The Rio flush fit is quoted at 1.3 W/m²K, A energy rated and PAS 24 enhanced security accredited. Those are the maker's claims, and they sit close to the other systems. But REHAU supplies profile lengths, not windows. A fabricator welds the frame and adds the glass and locks, and your installer fits it, so how good a REHAU window is depends mostly on those two firms.

REHAU was set up in 1948 in Rehau, Germany, and is a 100% family-owned group, but its group headquarters is in Muri, Switzerland. REHAU Plastics Ltd was formed in the UK in 1962, and the UK head office is at Ross-on-Wye.

VEKA's own figures for its M70 casement are 1.2 W/m²K with double glazing and 0.75 with triple, PAS 24 enhanced security, steel and aluminium reinforcement and a ten-year guarantee on the profile. Its Matrix window carries an A+ Window Energy Rating at 1.2 W/m²K. As with any profile, the finished window is made by a fabricator and fitted by an installer, and their work decides most of the result.

With double glazing, there is almost nothing between them. VEKA, Liniar, Kömmerling, Profile 22, aluplast and the Residence Collection all publish 1.2 W/m²K for a double-glazed window, and REHAU's Rio flush fit 1.3. The lower headline figures, 0.75 to 0.88 W/m²K, are triple glazing. Every double-glazed figure published is inside the 1.4 W/m²K limit for a replacement window in England.

No independent market-share figure for UK window profile systems is published. REHAU says one in seven uPVC windows fitted in the UK are made from its profile, but that is REHAU's own claim with no method or year given. Any page quoting a bigger share for a brand than the brand claims itself has no public source for it.

Liniar extrudes its profile in Denby, Derbyshire, but it is not UK-owned. Every Liniar page states that Liniar Limited is a subsidiary of Quanex Extruded Solutions, a Quanex Building Products company, and Quanex is based in Houston, Texas.

No. The systems houses sell profile lengths to fabricators, who make the windows and buy in the glass, locks and hinges. You buy from an installer, and the Residence Collection says plainly that your purchase contract, warranty and aftercare are with your installer. To get a particular profile, you choose an installer who works with it.

These figures are independent 2026 estimates, not a formal quote. Always get at least three written quotes before you commit. Grant rules change often, so confirm eligibility on GOV.UK and check your installer is registered with FENSA.